Is this a domain scam?

Posted By: altairastro ()
Posted On: 2008-Jun-20 17:28

I got this email from a chap in China who has since offered me the option to register these domains instead of a company called Safnet... Let me know what you guys think. He reckons he's with the Asian Internet Domains Register Dept. rolleyeys www.china-net.hk

here's the email:

Dear Manager,
We are the domain name register center in Asia, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally. I have something need to confirm with you. We have received an application formally,one company named " SafNetwork Service Limited" applies for , on the internet June 20. 2008. SafNetwork company wants to apply the following domain names and internet brand name:
1.Domain Name:
altairastro.asia
altairastro.cn
altairastro.com.cn
altairastro.com.hk
altairastro.com.tw
altairastro.hk
altairastro.in
altairastro.tw
.......etc.
2.Internet Brand Name: altairastro

We need to know the opinion of your company, because the domain names and keywords may relate to the usufruct of brand name on internet. We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely

Best Regards,
Angor.Huang
Sponsoring Registrar: Asian Internet Domains Register Dept.
Tel: +852-3075 9838
Fax: +852-3177 1510
Email: Angor.huang@dntcl.hk.cn
website: www.china-net.hk



Posted By: SportsGuy (Staff)
Posted On: 2008-Jun-20 19:54

Scam - skip it - been around for a while now. Sounds realistic, but it's not.

Skip it.


Posted By: Prowler (Staff)
Posted On: 2008-Jun-21 05:12

As SportsGuy says - it is a scam. Been getting these mails in many forms. For Asia tld many "agents" charge several times over and above the normal registration charges.


Posted By: altairastro ()
Posted On: 2008-Jun-23 08:50

thanks guys I thought as much but was curious to see the response. I was sent a word doc too which I was asked to read which obviously contained something dodgy smile all the best, Nick