Keensurfer, thanks for bringing out things in your second pointer.
sirduncan, here is a simple ROI formula:
ROI=((RE*CTR*CR*ASP)-TC)/TC
Where:
*Reach (RE) is the number of impressions/people reached by advertising and/or promotion.
*Click Through Rate (CTR)
*Conversion Rate (CR) is the number of people who made a purchase or took a desired action.
*Average amount of Sales per Person (ASP) is an average.
*Total Cost (TC) is the total cost of advertising and/or promotion.
For example, let’s say that Web site A spent $3,000 (TC) on a PPC advertising campaign. Ad impressions were 40,000 (RE), and CTR was 0.125 (5,000 clicks/40,000 impressions). The campaign’s conversion rate (CR) was 0.5, and the average amount of sales per person (ASP) was $500.00. ROI here would be:
ROI=((40,000*0.125*0.5*500)-3,000)/3,000= $415.67
As bhartzer mentioned, you will need to factor in other cost variables in TC, such as web hosting fees, web design fees, your time to make a landing page, your time to add keyword to Adwords, etc...in order to get more accurate figure. Don't be discouraged when you find it rather difficult to factor in all your cost...certain costs are, by nature, too difficult to assign to a specific campaign. The formula above can give you a good rough estimate ROI figure...which can be used to plan your next move.
You can give a forecasting a try also. Comparing an actual and a forecasted figure could provide you with more insights on your campaign(s) performance. I suggest Exponential Smoothing as it's very simple to apply; in exponential smoothing, recent observations are given relatively more weight in forecasting than the older observations. Thus more reliable than moving average.
how do I know that someone sees my link but does not click on it?
It's been a while since I ran an AdWords campaign, but I do recall that it shows the total impression of a given keyword(s) in your campaign. Some of that figure could, and probably are, be generated repeatedly by a same user...but at least, this could give you a rough estimation. But, as bhartzer said, It's hard to tell if they saw your PPC ad if it's not on your site.
HTH.
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