JimWorld Forums: Google Adwords Phishing Attempts



Posted By: dudibob ()
Posted On: 03/26/2008 03:45 am

I don't know if anyone else has got one of these recently, but quite a few people I know with an Adwords account have got one.

The email looks very legit and there's only a very very small thing that singles it out:


This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update your billing information.

Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.

Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive your signed debit authorization before your ads start running, depending on your location.

If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your first payment.


We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Google AdWords Team



However the link takes you to adwords.google.com.fieu09.cn/select/Login/ and any combination of user + password 'logs' you in and then it asks you to update your credit card details in a very Google way.


Be warned.

[ Message was edited by: JimBot 03/26/2008 05:55 am ... Reason: Typo ]




Posted By: g1smd (Moderator)
Posted On: 03/26/2008 05:51 am

That's very dangerous. I am sure that quite a few people will fall for it and pass their bank details on to the criminals sending out those fake mailings.


Posted By: dudibob ()
Posted On: 03/29/2008 05:31 am

Hmmm, I've now had 4 of these to date, all different domains all .cn


Posted By: needtoknow ()
Posted On: 04/07/2008 02:12 pm

Too many crooks. In any case I switched from Adwords sometime ago and am now trying one of their competitors. Still not too satisfied and am talking to the people at Dojohut.com to see what their results will look like.


Posted By: Quadrille (Insider)
Posted On: 04/07/2008 03:33 pm

needto know:

Is it a coincidence that four out of five of your posts plug one never-heard-of website, which you claim you haven't even used yet?

I suspect you've overegged the pudding, old chap.


Posted By: needtoknow ()
Posted On: 04/09/2008 06:40 am

Quadrille;

I didn't even realise I was mentioning them so frequently. The coincidence might be just that I'm presently trying to work a deal with them.

LOL..I never heard that one about overegging a pudding.


JimWorld Forums © 1996 - 2004 .... iWeb Technology, Jimworld.com