Posted By: Gshaughn ()
Posted On: 09/28/2005 02:15 pm
|
A client has been running a blog for months now and just got this message...
Can't accept the ping because the site "<his blog's name here>" has been identified as a ping-spammer.
I tried to search the forum to no avail. Checked Google and got some unaswered forum posts. He has been running the blog on blogspot, and soing so in good faith.
ANy feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Greg
|
|
Posted By: auctionman ()
Posted On: 10/04/2005 03:53 pm
|
Not sure definately but it could be a spammer that is utilising the trackback nature of blogs to spam the net and gain as many links as possible.
I hate all spammers...
Mike.
PS. Hello all, its my first day here :o)
|
|
Posted By: quality-ins ()
Posted On: 11/15/2005 05:54 pm
|
From what I understand, your blog sends a ping to the technorati.com etc everytime there is an update or comment. It indicates the level of popularity of your blog.
Some people ping spam to make it look like their blog is really active. Of course if you can automate things like that, people will abuse it.
|
|
|