Adwords Display URL scam

Posted By: joey_skulls ()
Posted On: 2006-Nov-22 18:13

Hi guys,

I have recently contacted Google regarding some advertiser advertising on Adwords with my .com and redirecting towards his site.

I had the same issue with Yahoo, and now I see it happening in Google as well.
If this is acceptable, then small search engines can advertise with google.com and forward to their site...i dont think thats gonna fly with G or Y, so why do they let it happen to us?

Meanwhile, my a-hole competitor is stealing my traffic huh by using illegal ways through G and Y...totally not cool!

I contacted G and they said that they will take care of the situation.

Hopefully they are true to their word.
I will keep you all posted.


As this ever happen to you? What did you do?


Posted By: flyingrose (Staff)
Posted On: 2006-Nov-23 06:17

With the huge numbers of online advertisers I doubt that Google does background checks to make sure the advertiser owns the domain in their ads. It wouldn't be obvious that your competitor wasn't you advertising with them.

I have not heard of this happening before and I would be very surprised if Google didn't pull their ads. I don't know that they would take any other action. It is possible that you would have cause for legal action if you wanted to go that route.

You'd have to check with an attorney familiar with Internet cases that have been decided, are pending, or are likely to come up in the near future.


Posted By: joey_skulls ()
Posted On: 2006-Nov-23 15:27

Our attorneys have been on the case for a while. These attempts will only help our case!