Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend
  • Are directories better than files? (In: Google)
  • Featured Web Site Template

    Hundreds More at Free Site Templates.com!

    Web Site Partners
    Sponsored Links
    Jet City Software
     
    Whos Here ?
    Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
    Moderator(s): g1smd, bhartzer
    Member Message

    lici
    Joined: Apr 12, 2004
    # Posts: 4

    View the profile for lici Send lici a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-12 15:48
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I would like to find out more cheaper quality directories. I'm looking for $30 and less for site submission.
    So far I submitted to Ajdee.com and Linkopedia.com.
    Any other suggestions?

    lici



    greenleaves
    Joined: Mar 21, 2002
    # Posts: 720

    View the profile for greenleaves Send greenleaves a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-12 16:08
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    check http://www.isedb.com

    Cheers
    Nicolas



    web aviator
    Joined: Apr 13, 2004
    # Posts: 4

    View the profile for web aviator Send web aviator a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-13 11:28
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Check this out:

    SoMuch.com
    SeekOn.com
    1st-Spot.Net
    Patient.co.uk
    Directory.net
    Re-Quest.net
    7in1web.com
    Myallfish.com
    Townnet.com
    GoGuides.org
    SurfPoint.com
    Peekaboo.net
    Lifestyle.co.uk
    Microwho.com
    Smartlinks.org
    123World.com
    SuperPages.ca
    Linkopedia.com
    SunSteam.com
    Fitnesspros.net
    Rex.Skyline.net
    Psychnet-uk.com
    Canadopedia.com
    Travelbritain.co.uk
    Allwebdirectories.com
    microwho.com/general/sites.html
    travelbritain.co.uk





    [ Message was edited by: web aviator 04/13/2004 01:17 pm ]





    lici
    Joined: Apr 12, 2004
    # Posts: 4

    View the profile for lici Send lici a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-14 05:11
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I appreciate your response but most of these sites charge more than $30 and (or) many of them are just not close to our criteria of decent sites. We will keep looking and try to put up list of quality internet directories. Maybe even a website.

    lici



    cfwebsource
    Joined: Apr 19, 2004
    # Posts: 5

    View the profile for cfwebsource Send cfwebsource a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-19 22:20
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I think the best value of all web directories I've found is www.searchmonster.org. In addition to a directory listing, they give you admin tools to post articles, press releases, and a web review. Also, you are automatically enrolled in their link exchange program.

    Their distribution is unique. They give away their directory out free for download in a small Flash (.swf) file. Meaning the potential for traffic is high. I have their directory on my site at www.cfwebsource.com

    I think they are fairly new, but I'm guessing they will grow rapidly.



    greenleaves
    Joined: Mar 21, 2002
    # Posts: 720

    View the profile for greenleaves Send greenleaves a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-19 23:00
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I remind you that self promotion is against TOS. Please don't SPAM these forums. It is enoying. Posting your url is not good sad (you are suposed to keep it in your profile), especially on your first post. The recomendation you are giving a directory that nobody knows about makes it abious it is A: Yours or B:Your bosses. By posting unlikely claims

    I think the best value of all web directories I've found is [Url not quoted to avoid braking TOS]
    makes you look bad, as everybody in this forum, I believe, would disagree on this statement.

    In addition to a directory listing... Also, you are automatically enrolled in their link exchange program.
    automatic link exchange... hum, sounds like a good way of really hurting your rankings.

    They give away their directory out free for download in a small Flash (.swf) file.
    Sounds like scumware to me.

    I have their directory on my site at www.cfwebsource.com I think they are fairly new
    I always inter link my own sites too wink.


    P.S. I haven't checked the sites mentioned as I don't linke to give clicks to SPAMERS

    [ Message was edited by: greenleaves 04/20/2004 11:28 am ]





    cfwebsource
    Joined: Apr 19, 2004
    # Posts: 5

    View the profile for cfwebsource Send cfwebsource a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-19 23:44
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Sorry, but you're wrong. I found it in freesticky and thought it was really good stuff. I appologize for sharing my opinion, but I thought that's what we are here for.

    lici asked a question, I answered. I gave my site as an example. I have nothing to gain by spamming my site in this forum.



    greenleaves
    Joined: Mar 21, 2002
    # Posts: 720

    View the profile for greenleaves Send greenleaves a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-20 19:41
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Sorry, but you're wrong. I found it in freesticky and thought it was really good stuff. I appologize for sharing my opinion, but I thought that's what we are here for.


    Yes that is what we are here for. I thought you were trying a vain attempt of hidding self promotion under "this is the best site in the world". If I was rude I apologice. But it was your first post, and you stated that this small directory "gives the best value for your money", after adding a link to it. If the directory is really not yours, and you really believe this statement, I sugest you should try some reall first tear directories like yahoo and looksmart (these are defenitively not my sites). I just have a hard time believing that some people actually believe that "the best money" for a directory comes from a directory no one knows about.

    lici asked a question, I answered. I gave my site as an example. I have nothing to gain by spamming my site in this forum.

    Giving your site URL as an example, is againsed TOS. If you really whanted to give it as an example, you can ask people to check your profile. Pretty much any spam that bring human traffic to a site means the owner of the site has something to gain from spam (the balence of gaining/loosing is a delicate one that determines this desission together with morality)



    cfwebsource
    Joined: Apr 19, 2004
    # Posts: 5

    View the profile for cfwebsource Send cfwebsource a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-20 22:16
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    I don't have the kind of money that the Yahoo directory is asking--what is it now, about $300 Looksmart is a PPC and requires a lot of money. Searchmonster charges 29.95, but I got listed free because I signed-up as an editor. They ask you to put their banner on your site and if someone signs-up coming from your banner click, they pay you.

    Another note. You called yahoo and looksmart "first tear directories" and I know they are good for increasing traffic, but if you were to "brave it" and check out searchmonster for yourself instead of making statements about something in which you have no experience. You may see want I meant by "value". I have not found any directory offering the things searchmonster is offering. Whether I get any value out of being listed remains to be seen.

    Finally, I do appologize for including my url. I sell nothing at my site and receive no money for increased traffic. I should of used someone elses site as an example.

    [ Message was edited by: cfwebsource 04/20/2004 03:22 pm ]





    greenleaves
    Joined: Mar 21, 2002
    # Posts: 720

    View the profile for greenleaves Send greenleaves a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-20 22:43
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Ok, you convinced me, this directory, I think, is not yours. I apologice, I just see too much spam in these forums, and it does get to me.

    I braved it. Alexa 101 thousand, pr5. Not a bad link for 30 bucks. I was surprised. Thank you for pointing it out, and sorry for any rudeness. Welcome to the forums, and thanks for showing me something I did not know about. I may purchace a link myself. Please accept my appologies.


    Welcome
    Cheers,
    Nicolas



    g1smd
    Staff
    Joined: Jul 28, 2002
    # Posts: 10438

    View the profile for g1smd Send g1smd a private message

    Posted: 2004-Apr-21 22:16
    Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

    Yes, link drops can be a problem in some forums.

    I know that the administrators here delete anything that looks dubious, and will continue to do so in the future.

    Several posts from the last few days are no longer here I see, as of some time earlier today.


    You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
    1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
    2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
    3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

    If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

    If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

    If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

    Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread

    New posts Forum is locked
    © 1995  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions