Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend
Related Forum Posts
Featured Web Site Template

Hundreds More at Free Site Templates.com!

Web Site Partners
Sponsored Links
Jet City Software
 
Whos Here ?
There are 0 guests and 3 members in the forums right now.
Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
Member Message

trevorb
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 128

View the profile for trevorb Send trevorb a private message

Posted: 11/28/2004 05:23 pm
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Hi Guys,
Im sending this out to the DMOZ editors that i know read Jim world !

I submited a site to Dmoz a while back.
I went to your forums and asked for a status update and i got the following reply !

------------------------------------
'' We don't have anything against JimWorld, but you're just as welcome in your own person -- no introduction needed.

However, the site was not accepted: the editor apparently failed to find sufficient unique information to warrant a listing. (I got the same impression, and suspect that's not something that site redesign or more editor reviews would change.)''
-------------------------------------

Can anyone tell me how i can make a travel/holiday web site any different from my compertition ? at the end of the day we all sell holidays/travel and due to the legal side of my idustry i CAN NOT add lots of content.

This is really crazy .... its a new business for me and very important to be in the dmoz directory along with all of my compertition ....

If i followed the reply (above) then by rights dmoz should only have one travel/holiday web site as they are all the same !

The only way we can be different is to change the design and display ! as i said we all sell the same product !!!!!! - even as far as the holidays we display via our search .... they all come from the same database - thats right ... UK travel companies all pull there web searches from the same place - but im being told i have no 'unique information ' - well who the hell does have 'unique information ' in my industry !!!!!

Please see
CODE:
http://resource-zone.com/forum/showthread.php?p=138648#post138648




cbp
Joined: Dec 25, 2003
# Posts: 181

View the profile for cbp Send cbp a private message

Posted: 11/28/2004 11:26 pm
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Is google also playing god? - they have banned your mirror site ... you weren't trying to scam DMOZ by submitting both these were you?

A URL that repeats the keyword 3 times has got to be a red flag for possible spam.

Hutcheson gave you some good advice in that thread.

I could find no content on the site that would make it a worthwhile addition to DMOZ.



philh
Joined: Sep 14, 2001
# Posts: 3050

View the profile for philh Send philh a private message

Posted: 11/29/2004 12:19 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

I don't understand, what mirror site? Do you have two sites?



cbp
Joined: Dec 25, 2003
# Posts: 181

View the profile for cbp Send cbp a private message

Posted: 11/29/2004 01:53 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

holidayholidayholiday.co.uk
holidayholidayholiday.com



philh
Joined: Sep 14, 2001
# Posts: 3050

View the profile for philh Send philh a private message

Posted: 11/29/2004 02:44 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Two sites with identical content isn't a good idea. Best to have the one site and point the second name at that for type-ins.

However, as I understand it, neither are in Dmoz - did you submit both?

The point Hutcheson makes is that, from Dmoz point of view there are already enough sites in their directory offering the same info as your site. Remember Dmoz is focused on visitors to the Dmoz site, not us webmasters.

My advice is forget Dmoz - it is not a prerequisite for high rankings. You are going to need to implement a serious link building campaign - maybe even pitch for more niche terms, spend some time at Wordtracker and Overture and see where there is traffic but not too much competition.

You are in a very competitive space and are up against major players with lots of money to promote their sites.

HTH



trevorb
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 128

View the profile for trevorb Send trevorb a private message

Posted: 11/29/2004 04:45 am
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

cbp,
Are you saying by having the url holidayholidayholiday is spam ?

And yes i do have 2 sites, but i was paying a company to promote the first (.com) and when i pulled from the the seo company because they were using techniques the SE didn't like i started the .co.uk site !

I even asked dmoz editors if the original site had been submited to dmoz and i was told NO !
So how on earth 'cbp ' am i trying to spam dmoz?

And i find it strange that you say Google has banned the .com site ? i still get traffic from them and indexed !

--------------------------

Philh,
Any suggestion on what or how i should go about this ?




cbp
Joined: Dec 25, 2003
# Posts: 181

View the profile for cbp Send cbp a private message

Posted: 11/29/2004 01:09 pm
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Are you saying by having the url holidayholidayholiday is spam ?


No. I said it was a red flag for spam. Means a DMOZ editor, or anyone else for that matter, might look a lot more critically at the site.
I even asked dmoz editors if the original site had been submited to dmoz and i was told NO !
So how on earth 'cbp ' am i trying to spam dmoz?

Never said that either. I simply asked if you were trying to scam DMOZ by having the mirror. The mirror was easy to find (its linked at the bottom of the page) - what do you think a DMOZ editor thinks when they see it? Maybe "are we being scammed? What else are they up to?" I would think the content of the site would have to be really outstanding get a listing when these 'red flags' go off in an editor's head. All sorts of tactics get used to scam listings at DMOZ...



trevorb
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 128

View the profile for trevorb Send trevorb a private message

Posted: 11/29/2004 03:52 pm
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

cbp,
Please see the pm i sent you ?
Thanks



You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
  1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
  2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
  3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread

New posts Forum is locked
© 1995  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions