Printer Friendly Version Print this thread
Email this thread to a friend eMail this thread to a friend
Featured Web Site Template

Hundreds More at Free Site Templates.com!

Web Site Partners
Sponsored Links
Jet City Software
 
Whos Here ?
Reflects user activity within the last 5 minutes
Moderator(s): flyingrose, Curious_Mark
Member Message

chensen
Joined: Mar 17, 2004
# Posts: 1

View the profile for chensen Send chensen a private message

Posted: 2004-Mar-18 00:52
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

While doing my log review, I noticed a fairly large amount of traffic (something in the neighborhood of 100 visits this month) from a single IP # (64.242.88.50).

In looking a bit harder, I've discovered that this ip resolves into one owned(?) by Looksmart.

Has anybody else noticed this, and if so, do you know what it is. Regular traffic or is this a spider, or something completely different?

Thanks

Cory



Mike-Levin.com
Joined: Sep 27, 2000
# Posts: 1988

View the profile for Mike-Levin.com Send Mike-Levin.com a private message

Posted: 2004-Mar-22 17:49
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Hi chensen,

Here's my log entry on my robots.txt from that IP. It looks like it's a dead link checker. So yes, it is a robot from LookSmart/WiseNut. The normal spider appears to come in on IP 64.242.88.10 and 216.88.158.142. The one you saw appears to be a dead link checker in particular.

Mozilla/4.0 compatible ZyBorg/1.0 Dead Link Checker (wn.zyborg@looksmart.net; http://www.WISEnutbot.com)



bhartzer
Staff
Joined: Jun 08, 2000
# Posts: 7042

View the profile for bhartzer Send bhartzer a private message

Posted: 2004-Mar-22 17:53
Edit Message Delete Message Reply to this message

Looksmart (aka wisenutbot.com) is doing a lot of heavy crawling right now. They're supposed to be going into the niche directory arena, so I'm assuming that that's why they're doing it.


You are not permitted to post messages in this forum or topic, because of one or more of the following reasons:
  1. You have not yet logged in, or registered properly as a member
  2. You are a member, but no longer have posting rights.
  3. This is a private forum, for which you do not have permissions.

If you are a recent member, it's possible that you simply have not yet confirmed your account. Please check your email for a message entitled 'JimWorld Forums: Confirm Your Account' and follow the instructions contained within.

If you cannot find this message, click here to Re-Send it.

If you are still experiencing problem, please read the Login Assistance Article for some advice on what may be causing your login not to work properly.

Switch to Advanced Editor and ... Create a New Topic or Reply to this Thread

New posts Forum is locked
© 1995  ·  iWeb, Inc  ·  DBA JimWorld Productions