renoir
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 4
|
Posted: 06/10/2003 05:43 pm
This is even worse - a company is using postal mail to sneak money.
i received a notice in the mail from an a company calling themselves
"Internet Corporation Listing Service". They sent me an unsolicited bill for automatic submissions I never ordered.
It appears this SEO company that is trying to poach business and prey on the uninformed. The letter looks like a bill from ATT phones, and tells people they have to pay for search engine submission to 1 million internet resources.
if anyone has heard of this company I would love to know.
http://www.ICLS.NET
|
 |
CatLady
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts:
|
Posted: 06/11/2003 06:55 am
I feel your pain, renoir! My clients have received tons of faxes from ICLS.net! I reported them to the FTC consumer complaints division. Every week I get a call about those crooked faxes, and I have to explain the scam. It makes me feel sleazy, knowing there are companies out there using these tactics to push SEO. It also ticks me off that I'm practically apologizing for another company's tricks.
Here's the address to the FTC's consumer complaint division if you want to file a report: https://rn.ftc.gov/pls/dod/ wsolcq$.startup?Z_ORG_CODE=PU01
|
 |
steve97fx
Joined: Aug 15, 2002
# Posts: 36
|
Posted: 06/11/2003 07:49 am
I just took a look at ICLS.net. Great stuff. I especially enjoy the faq section, which details that "many search engines favor resubmissions". Hmm...I must not have gotten that memo.
I also enjoy their sample reports…I mean topdog reports. Quite ashame. I'm sure they send out their fake bills and then if anyone ever asks for proof of work, they generate reports from a discontinued piece of software to justify the work they never did.
If I only lived in San Jose, I'd enjoy taking a ride down to 2530 Berryessa Road # 912 to see just who's home. I’m not familiar with San Joes, but that address sounds like an apartment to me.
I too can sympathize with everyone who must fight off these illegitimate and dishonest companies. I easily answer 3-5 inquiries a week about trafficmagnet and various others who offer my clients submission to 350,000+ engines.
The questions from clients are all the same: “You said you just hand submit my site to the major search engines and directories. I want to be submitted to all of the engines that [insert bogus firm] says they have partnerships with. The more the better right?”
Hopefully one day it will all end. When it finally does, the party is at my house and everyone is invited.
|
 |
nickn0783
Joined: Mar 26, 2002
# Posts: 1371
|
Posted: 06/11/2003 08:29 am
"I want to be submitted to all of the engines that [insert bogus firm] says they have partnerships with. The more the better right?"
ROTFL! :D I hear ya!
|
 |
excell
Moderator
Joined: Mar 19, 2001
# Posts: 14495
|
Posted: 06/11/2003 08:39 am
Or "is this any good"?
NO it is ****house, ignore.
|
 |
patrickh
Joined: Oct 05, 2001
# Posts: 2187
|
Posted: 06/30/2003 12:15 pm
We just gota nice piece of spam from them:
From: [mailto]submission@icls.net[/mailto] [mailto:[mailto]submission@icls.net[/mailto]]
Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 3:26 PM
To: <removed>
Subject: Subscription Received <removed>
Your subscription has been received for our ranking reports and search
engine submission services.
Customer Number :<removed>
Customer Name: <removed>
Domain Name: <removed>
Please go to
http://www.icls.net/submit/
Complete all of the fields in the online form and submit it. Once we
receive the form, you will receive your first ranking report within 2
business days. You may submit a different domain than the one listed.
If you have any questions, please reply to this email.
Thank you,
ICLS.NET - Submissions Department
[mailto]submission@icls.net[/mailto]
www.icls.net
The name they used was just the name under the domain registration... I wonder how many people just pay this not knowing that it is a total lie.
|
 |
hctaffy
Joined: Eons Ago
# Posts: 151
|
Posted: 07/01/2003 08:25 am
I got one too, they're crazy.
|
 |
yellowwing
Moderator
Joined: May 21, 2002
# Posts: 2524
|
Posted: 02/20/2004 05:09 am
If anyone has recieved a fraudulant bill in the mail from this company contact the US Postal Inspector and file a complaint:
The U.S. Postal Inspection Service is the law enforcement branch of the U.S. Postal Service, empowered by federal laws and regulations to investigate and enforce over 200 federal statutes related to crimes against the U.S. Mail, the Postal Service and its employees. Postal Inspectors investigate any crime in which the U.S. Mail is used to further a scheme, whether it originated in the mail, by telephone or on the Internet. The use of the U.S. Mail is what makes it a mail fraud issue.
If evidence of a postal-related violation exists, Postal Inspectors may seek prosecutive or administrative action against a violator; however, if money is lost to a fraudulent scheme conducted through the mail, Inspectors do not have the authority to ensure you are refunded your loss and cannot require that products, services or advertisements, on the Internet or elsewhere, be altered.
Postal Inspectors base their investigations of mail fraud on the number, pattern and substance of complaints received from the public. The Postal Inspection Service is interested in your concerns and will carefully review the information you provide.
If you feel you've been victimized in a mail fraud scheme that in any way involves the U.S. Mail, submit a Mail Fraud Complaint Form to the U.S. Postal Inspection Service.
|
 |
just_jess
Joined: Dec 29, 2004
# Posts: 1
|
Posted: 12/29/2004 04:12 pm
I know I'm late to the game on this one, but icls.net also sends via USPS! And it's a gorgeous tri-fold fake invoice. Yes, they do say "this is not a bill", but boy, it looks awfully real.
And for Steve97fx's curiosity, the San Jose address is a P.O. Box to a UPS store, whereas the mailing address for one's checks goes to...
what loks like was once/might still be a Fast Food Chicken joint named Ranch-1. I kid you not.
The head office? Nassau, Bahamas.
Uh, yeah. They seem REALLY legitimate.
I'm just an (unpublished as of yet) author trying to put up a website for a book I'm publishing. Between this and the identity theft my husband's dealing with right now, this is really getting old.
Jess
|
 |
smogcity2000
Joined: Feb 06, 2004
# Posts: 198
|
Posted: 12/29/2004 09:16 pm
Ok, do you guys just post about such companies or are you taking action and reporting them to proper authorities?
|
 |